Emmerson Mnangagwa declared winner in Zimbabwe’s elections

Zimbabwean President Emerson Mnangagwa was declared the winner for another five-year term after observers condemned the country’s election which the Southern African Development Community said was marred with irregularities.

Mnangagwa from the ruling Zanu PF party received 52. 6% of the vote.

His rival, Nelson Chamisa, of the Citizens Coalition for Change (CCC), was second, winning 44%. 

Zanu PF also won 136 seats in the National Assembly. The CCC received 73 seats, denying the ruling party a two-thirds majority with which Mnangagwa could amend the Constitution. 

The election for Gutu West was canceled following the death of a candidate before the elections.

Scroll to Top